top of page

Domestic Abuse - An Appraisal During Pandemic


     "Her marriage life with him is for 15 years. He had always been verbally and physically abusive. She found herself a job to get rid of his tortures. But this 2020 has its own plans. As she is struck with him in the same house the full day, she was continually harassed by both her husband and in-laws. Unable to bear the beatings she called for help through invisible scars (a support group for victims of domestic violence)". This is a story shared by the BBC.

 

"If you really want to get into the story, the first thing is you want to know about me. I belong to the 3rd century BCE. In the month of July, on the day before the varlakshmi pooja, I was born on Dharalapur. I was not celebrated as I was born as a girl. But the next day the pooja was celebrated by my mother for my father and our family’s long life. As I belonged to this century, we follow Arthasastra’s Kautilya. There are so many rules and regulations prescribed by Kautilya. And according to Arthasastra women attains the majority at the age of 12, and she should be obedient and must be dependent on her lawful guardian or else she would be punished. But to my astonishment, I was not punished. Because I was married at the age of 7 to a 24-year-old man. I was at a playable age. But I was never allowed outside my husband’s house. One day I was sitting alone in the house, my husband was out somewhere for work. Without my husband’s order, I went to my mother's house. On my return, I was beaten up by my husband with a bamboo stick. According to Kautilya, disobedience to a husband is the greatest crime and without any possible danger, a woman cannot step out of the house if she does she would be beaten up by her husband for the offense committed. I was ill-treated for several incidents by my husband and my in-laws. This was my life and I deserved these punishments."(An imaginary story to compare the past and the present)


This story evolved about 3000 years ago. During that period, the status of women had been weak. There were certain customs and traditions that make them make such laws. They can't even seek help as they were governed by Arthasastra's Kautilya. But in the 21st century, I think there is no abuse of women in almost every house. But to my surprise, this 2020 blockade proved me wrong. Even during this pandemic, domestic violence has increased widely throughout India. The reason is that even if people don’t like it, people have to live in the same house. Working women resolved the harassment by their husbands or relatives by coming late. Housewives lead a peaceful life, at least their husbands are late home. However, the corona changed everything. It tied up people to the same house. Over 1400 cases have been registered between March 25 and May 31. This has been the highest record in the past 10 years. 77% of victims of domestic violence did not even mention the incidents to anyone. Only 7% reached the relevant authorities.

 

"As we all know often crimes against women are unreported. Our policing system must talk to the victims and change the current process we have like PWDVA to more stringent and reprimand the offenders with harsh punishments. We say our country is developing and we have less old school thoughts, is it true? To this current situation, the answer would be a big 'NO'. At least now why the cases are being unreported? Due to the so-called society, everyone says. We can't blame society for everything, every individual is part of this society. Let every one of us be the change. Let us knock down this #iscrimenewnormal!"


 

Domestic Violence:

Domestic violence is an almost common sh*t not in a marital relationship but also in a live-in relationship. The violence could be done by any of the partners, their in-laws. The violence forms could be physical, verbal, emotional, economic, religious, reproductive, and sexual abuse. But usually, the main targets are women.

At any given moment you have the power to say this is not how the story is going to end.” ― Christine Mason Miller

Laws:

Section 498A of Indian Penal Code:

Cruelty against the women by her husband or his relative. The punishment is imprisonment for 3 years and a fine.

Protection of Women against Domestic Violence Act:

It is a civil law, prohibits abuse (physical, emotional, economical, sexual) against women. This act extends to women who are in a live-in relationship.

Dowry Prohibition Act:

It is criminal law, prohibits giving and taking of dowry. The punishment is imprisonment for 6 months and a fine up to 5000.

Sometimes the shame is not the beatings, not the rape. The shaming is in being asked to stand judgment. Meena Kandasamy
 

Legal Actions:

Weakness in the judicial system of India leads to making greater violence against women. Often the cases take 6 to 10 months of time to come to trial. The burden of proof is usually very high. Personal contacts with the judiciary and people with high power ruin the case. Due to the long trial period, the victims go hostile as it takes 4 to 5 years to provide a judgment. And victims are cross-examined unnecessarily in the court. It makes women weak and makes them commit suicide. Speedy trial and speed delivery of judgment is necessary for such kinds of offenses and laws against women must be made more stringent than this.

The more that we choose not to talk about domestic violence, the more we shy away from the issue, the more we lose.” ― Russell Wilson
 

Helpline:

Police: 1091/1291

The National Commission for Women: 72177 35372 (WhatsApp)

All India Women's Conference: 10921/(011)23389680

Shakthi Shalini: 10920

Crisis helpline for Sneha: 98330 52684/91675 35765








 



bottom of page